Warrane College Fellows are chosen from among senior and generally eminent persons noted for their scholarship, dedication and professional excellence.

The College Council may confer an honorary title on a person as recognition of his or her association with, or contribution to the College, which may be evident by:

1.Strengthening the academic environment of the College;

2. Furthering the teaching, scholarship or other professional work of the College;

3. Representation and advocacy on behalf of the College;

4. Supporting members of the College community;

5. Enhancing the resources of the College; and

6.Supporting the mission, objectives and functions of the College.


There are two types of fellowship available: Honorary Fellows and Academic Fellows.



Honorary Fellows are those who have made an outstanding contribution to their profession or to the College. Honorary Fellows are an adornment to the College by virtue of their life and experience, and their identification with the College in some real sense. They are men and women who have a sense of the importance of the mission, objectives and functions of the College.

The Honorary Fellows are:

Em Professor David LA Barker AM LLB MPhil LLM DipLG FAL FCIS FAIM FIMgt FACE

(Former Dean of Law, UTS)

Dr Chris R French MB BS BSc(Med) PhD FRACP

(Former Master of the College)

Rev Dr Joseph F Martins SB MA PhD(Chem)(Harvard) PhD(Phil)(PUSC, Rome)

(Former Master of the College)

His Eminence George Cardinal Pell AC

(Prefect, Secretariat for the Economy, Vatican; former Archbishop of Sydney)

Em Professor AG (Tony) Shannon AM PhD EdD DSc CMath FCP FACE FIMA FAustMS

(Former Master of the College)



Academic Fellows are distinguished academic staff of a tertiary institution who contribute to the academic environment and programs of the College. Academic Fellows directly assist the Master, the College and its students, according to their range of interests and talents, and by acting as ambassadors for the College in the wider community.

The Academic Fellows are:

Professor Eliathamby Ambikairajah BSc(Eng) PhD CEng FIET CPEng FIEAust MIEEE

(Head of School, Electrical & Telecommunications Engineering, UNSW)

Professor Robert Chung BSc DrArch PGDipArchComp DipEdSt CArch FCoT

(Program Director, Interior Design, Raffles College of Design and Commerce)

Professor James (Jim) Franklin BA (Sydney) MA (Sydney) PhD (Warwick)

(Australian philosopher, historian of ideas, and professor in the School of Mathematics and Statistics, UNSW)

Professor John Gascoigne BA (Sydney) MA (Princeton) PhD (Cambridge) Litt.D (Cambridge)

(Scientia Professor, School of Humanities, UNSW)

Associate Professor Peter Heslin BA(Hons) MA MPsyc(Applied) PhD

(Chair of Learning & Teaching Committee, School of Management, ASB, UNSW)

Dr James BT McCaughan MSc PhD

(Honorary Senior Lecturer, School of Physics, The University of Sydney)

Professor George L Mendz MSc PhD

(Head of Research, School of Medicine, The University of Notre Dame, Australia)



The College remembers those deceased Fellows who contributed to the environment and public profile of Warrane during their lifetimes.

Mr John R  “Johno” Johnson (†2017) KCSG

His Eminence Cardinal Edward B Clancy AC (†2014) LSS DD

Emeritus Professor Ron W Woodhead (†2011) BE ME CPEng FIEAust FAIB

Warrane College
356 Anzac Parade
Kensington NSW 2033
+61 2 9313 0300