Warrane College UNSW | college accommodation for students at UNSW
Warrane College UNSW | college accommodation for students at UNSW


Awards are presented to Warrane residents for a variety of achievements and milestones in their time at university:


The Bevan Corbett Award: The Bevan Corbett Award for Outstanding 1st Year Collegian was established in 2006. The late Bevan Corbett was a resident of Warrane College in the academic years of 2004-2005 while a student of Mining Engineering.

In January 2006, while on an industrial training term in Cobar, Bevan died tragically from a snake bite. The parents of Bevan have endowed a perpetual award that is presented to the 1st year collegian who best imitated Bevan’s example of commitment to university studies, participation in college activities and spirit of friendship and service.

Bevan Corbett Award recipients:

2006 James Byrne

2007 Gary Leung

2008 Ashley Smith

2009 Matthew Saxby

2010 Rohan Stocker

2011 Rhys Guard

2012 Christopher Scholes

2013 Elwyn Stannard

2014 Nick Kropf

2015 Chris Chan

2016 David Tighe

2017 Clemens del Rosario

2018 Anthony Taylor and Dom McCrossin

2019 Carel Greyling  

2020 Jack Campbell 


Valedict’s Award: The Valedict’s Award is a plaque presented to residents who are graduating from a university degree and have lived in College for at least two years. These plaques are presented at the Valedict’s Dinner, during which a fellow resident delivers a short speech in honour of the graduating resident.

College Scholars: Academic achievement is recognised in awards presented to College residents. One of the most sought-after awards is the annual College Scholars Medallion which is presented by a prominent academic to residents who have achieved a distinction average in their subjects in the previous year. Typically around 30% of residents will receive this award.

Master’s Award for Academic Achievment: At Wednesday formal dinners, the Master regularly presents the “Master’s award for academic achievement”. This occasional award is presented to a student who has achieved an excellent result in a mid-semester examination or assignment.

Certificate & Diploma of Educational Studies: These awards are presented to residents through the College of Teachers, London, for residents who fulfill the requirements for the Certificate or Diploma.


The Cultural Cup: The Cultural Cup is presented at the end of the year to the floor that have obtained the most points across all of cultural events including: O-Week activities, Band Night, Floor Film competition, Ironchef competition, “7th Floor Gift” race, tug-of-war, futsal competition and Binball tournament.


Sportsman of the Year: This award, a perpetual shield with names of past winners since the 1970’s, is presented at the end of year Awards Dinner to the resident who has made the greatest contribution on the sports field during the year. During this ceremony, awards are also presented to residents for: Most Dedicated Sportsman, Supporter of the Year, Coach of the Year, Captain of the Year, and Player of the Year in the various individual sports.

Winner of the Sportsman of the Year award, Will Backman.

College Blues and Half Blues: A College Blue is presented to a resident who has represented the College in a tournament sport over two years, and has either captained the team, won a Willie Wong award, or represented in that sport at a university of other level. Half-Blues are presented for the same achievement in carnival sports.

The Willie Wong Award: Each week, the “Willie Wong” award is presented to the best performing sportsman of the week. Willie Wong was a Warrane resident in the early 1970’s who was known for his effort and participation in many college sports. This weekly sports awards continues to be sponsored by Willie Wong.