Topo Presents Sports Awards

Monday 25 October, 2010

Presenting Warrane’s sports awards for 2010, rugby legend Enrique “Topo” Rodriguez encouraged residents to take both sport and their studies seriously, but also to take care of their mental health.

Topo, who capped off a successful Rugby career in Argentina by moving to Australia and playing for the Wallabies  from 1984 to 1987, is also well known for his struggle with bi-polar disorder. He established the Topo Foundation which educates people about mental health awareness, and seeks to reduce the stigma of mental illness and reduce the incidence of suicide related to mental illness. He also recently attended the 2010 Warrane Lecture on the subject of Depression, given by Professor Gordon Parker, Director of Sydney’s Black Dog Institute.

Topo told residents that there was a “world of possibilities – a world of opportunities” ahead of them. He said sport was like “life studies”, with “protagonists and participants”. He urged them to make the most of it while they could “because after you retire, all you can do is ponder and wonder” about what could have been.

On the topic of mental health, he encouraged residents to start working right now on preserving their mental health and to try to help their family members and friends to do the same.

“We do so many things against our mental health every day,” he said. “It is time to start preserving it – not only for yourselves, but helping your family and friends as well.”

Warrane had a successful year in sport and some of the main protagonists were recognised on the night. Sportman of the Year went to Andrew Watson while the Most Dedicated Sportsman was Roy Atherton.

Other awards included:

  • Coach of the Year: John Paul Zambrano (basketball)
  • Captain of the Year: Nicholas Murphy (rugby)
  • Supporter of the Year: Roy Atherton
  • Basketball player of the Year: Wesley Chiang
  • Rugby player of the Year: Andrew Watson
  • Soccer player of the Year: Surjeet Atwal
  • Tennis player of the Year: Truman Biro
  • Hockey player of the Year: Vekram Sambasivam
  • AFL player of the Year: Xavier Brennan
  • Water polo player of the Year: Robin Goh
  • Cricketer of the Year: Rohan Stocker
  • Netball player of the Year: Marty Deaker
  • Rugby League player of the Year: Roy Atherton
  • Touch Football player of the Year: Andrew Watson
  • Ultimate Frisbee player of the Year: Joe Appel
  • Cross Country Award: Robert Joseph
  • Volleyball player of the Year: Johnny Chang

Read more news from Warrane College