Warrane is staffed mainly by old boys of the College dedicated to maintaining Warrane’s strong traditions of friendship and service. Among the responsibilities of staff members are the day-to-day management and pastoral care of the College.


Master: Prof Gerald B Fogarty


Professor Gerald Fogarty is the fourth Master of Warrane College and was appointed in February 2012. He provides overall leadership to the College. He is responsible for the College’s relations with the wider community, the university, other colleges and old boys.

Gerald first experienced life at Warrane when he joined the College as an undergraduate student. Some time later he was appointed Tutor and subsequently Deputy Master (a role he performed for several years).

He is currently Director of Radiation Oncology at St Vincent’s Hospital, Sydney. Gerald is also on staff at the Sydney Mater Hospital, Melanoma Institute of Australia, the Skin and Cancer Foundation, and Macquarie University Hospital.

Gerald is a Professor at the University of Technology, Sydney, a Clinical Associate Professor at The University of Sydney, and Clinical Adjunct Professor at the University of Notre Dame, Sydney.

He has over 60 publications, 30 being first-author, and is the principal investigator of an International Phase III Trial in radiotherapy in melanoma.

Mr Arthur Escamilla

Dean: Mr Arthur Escamilla

BCom (UNSW) LLB (Hons) (Melb) MAICD

Arthur Escamilla became Dean of Warrane College in 2009. He oversees the strategic planning and operations of the College. In addition, he works with the Assistant Deans and Tutors in the implementation of policies relating to the development and welfare of all residents.

He is a member of the board of several charities, including Education Development Association (which owns Warrane College), and Education Sponsorship Trust (based in New Zealand). Arthur is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Previously, Arthur worked at the law firm Blake Dawson (now Ashurst) both in Sydney and Melbourne.

He did his undergraduate studies in Commerce (Finance) at UNSW and completed a Bachelor of Laws at the University of Melbourne.

Arthur enjoys extended meals with residents, exercise and the beach.


Assistant Dean: Mr Joseph Hoare


Joe is in his first year as Assistant Dean after previously serving as a Senior Tutor during his undergraduate studies. He has completed both a Commerce degree and a Juris Doctor. Joe works closely with Junya and Arthur to oversee the provision of student services and the operations of the college. Joe also oversees the finances of the college. Joe is a residential tutor on the 7th floor. 

Joe has a keen interest in art, history and his beloved Wests Tigers. 

Mr Junya Eguchi

Assistant Dean: Mr Junya Eguchi

BExPhys (UNSW) 

Junya became the Assistant Dean from July 2017 after previously being the head tutor. He manages the activities committee and the academic tutors of the College. He is also responsible for student recruitment, promotions and facilities maintenance.  

Junya is in his 2nd year as senior residential tutor for '3rd floor' . He is currently in his 2nd year in his postgraduate research degree in muscle physiology at Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA).  

One of Junya's passions in life is playing rugby union, which is a sport also popular in his native country Japan. 


Bursar: Mr Phillip Pragasam

MMgt (Macquarie) CA (Sri Lanka)

Phillip Pragasam qualified as a Chartered Accountant in 1975 and has worked as an auditor, Corporate accountant and General Manager in Sri Lanka, The United Kingdom and Australia.

He arrived in Australia in 1984 and while working as a General Manager Finance and Administration at Dai-Ichi Kanyo Australia Ltd, Merchant Bankers, completed a Masters Degree in Management from Macquarie University.

Retiring from full time work in the corporate world, Phillip took up the role of Bursar of Warrane College in June 2013.



Chaplain: Rev Dr Matthew A Bloomer BA (UCBerkeley) PhD (MIT) BTh SThD (PUSC)


Assistant Chaplain: Rev Edward H Barry BA (Boston) BTh SThD (PUSC)


Admissions Officer: Mr Willy Gonzales


Publications: Ms Tamara El-Rahi


Reception: Mr Max Brown


Maintenance: Mr Noe Granada


The Master, Dean, Assistant Deans and Chaplains live in the College.